Overview

This guide will show you how to manage audio and video options for participants as a host in an Adobe Connect meeting.

Note

Adobe Connect requires a webcam, a microphone (in a headset or webcam if not built in), and headphones (computer speakers cannot be used).

Automatically Giving Access to Participants

Step 1

Select the Meeting button in the top left corner of the window, hover your mouse over Manage Access and Entry, and then select Auto-Promote Participants to Presenters. This automatically gives all participants in the meeting access to audio and video options, which means that they can speak, use their webcam, draw on shared files, share their whiteboard, etc.

Screenshot of the Auto-Promote Participants to Presenters option.

Step 2

A gray information icon will appear on the Adobe Connect menu. To disable the auto-promote feature, select the drop-down arrow and select Turn Auto-Promote Off.

Screenshot of the Turn Auto-Promote Off option.

Managing Audio and Video Rights for Participants During a Meeting

If you don’t want to automatically give participants access to audio and/or video rights, you can control which participants have which rights during the meeting. Select the name of the participant to whom you wish to grant rights. Select Enable Microphone and/or Enable Video. A microphone icon will appear next to that participant’s name if you select Enable Audio.

Screenshot of the name menu.

A black box will appear on the participant’s screen to notify that he or she now has microphone and/or video access.

Screenshot of the Speak Now option.

To give only audio rights to all participants, select the Audio button at the top of the page and select Microphone Rights for Participants.

Screenshot of the Audio menu.

In order for a participant to speak, he or she must select the microphone icon at the top of the page to connect.

Screenshot of the microphone button.

To take back control of the audio, select the Audio button at the top of the page and select Microphone rights for Participants again. Then select your own microphone icon on the Adobe Connect menu.

Screenshot of the Audio menu.

Screenshot of the microphone button.

In order for a participant to share his/her webcam, the participant must select Start My Webcam and then Start Sharing.

Screenshot of the Start My Webcam button.

Screenshot of the Start Sharing button.

To stop sharing a participant's video, select the student's name in the Participants section and then select Disable Video.

Screenshot of the Disable Video option.

Information compiled by SUU Online™ © 2016

Was this helpful? 0 out of 0 found this helpful

Related Articles:


Have more questions?